Sports News: 5 players, including Rohit Sharma, to be honored with Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award

The Sports Award-2020 committee on Friday offered Rohit Sharma, girls’s wrestler Vinesh Phogat, girls’s hockey group captain Rani Rampal, girls’s desk tennis participant Manika Batra and para-athlete Mariyappan Thengavelu (Mariappan) Thangavelu) will be awarded the Khel Ratna Award on the event of National Sports Day on 29 August.

Rohit will be the fourth cricketer to obtain the Khel Ratna. Before him, Sachin Tendulkar, Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Virat Kohli have acquired this award. At the identical time, 27 gamers including Ishant Sharma will be honored with the Arjuna Award on 29 August.

Olympic medal winner Sakshi and Mirabai’s title dropped from Arjuna Award checklist

The Sports Ministry on Friday determined not to award the Arjuna Award to Sakshi Malik and Mirabai Chanu, who had earlier received the Khel Ratna, taking the variety of gamers to 27 this 12 months. The sports activities ministry, nevertheless, has accepted the 5 gamers whose names had been advisable for the nation’s highest sporting award Khel Ratna.

Both have gotten the Khel Ratna
Actually each these gamers had already acquired the nation’s highest sports activities award Khel Ratna. There was additionally criticism of their names being included within the checklist.

The ministry has confirmed this in its formal press launch. The award distribution ceremony for the primary time due to the Kovid-19 epidemic will be held digital on National Sports Day on 29 August. Earlier, an award ceremony was held at Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *